

ACCESS Center Name and Gender Change A-Z

ADULT NAME CHANGE

Q: My spouse and I want to change our names. Can we file together in the same case?

A: No, each adult must petition separately and file their own case.

Q: What forms do I need to file a Petition for Name Change for an adult?

A: You will need the following forms available at https://www.courts.ca.gov/22489.htm.

- CM-010, Civil Case Cover Sheet
- NC-100, Petition for Change of Name
- NC-110, Attachment to Petition for Change of Name (attached to NC-100)
- NC-120, Order to Show Cause for Change of Name
- NC-130, Decree Changing Name

Q: How do I complete the forms?

A: Please review form NC-100-INFO available at https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/nc100info.pdf for detailed instructions.

Q: I have legal documents with different names listed (e.g. the name on your social security card is Jonathan Doe, and the name on your driver's license is John Doe). What should I write for my present legal name on the forms?

A: In each section labeled "Present Name", list all names on all your legal documents with "aka" (also known as).

2. Petitioner requests that the court decree the following name changes (list every name that you are seeking to change):

<u>Present name</u> <u>Proposed name</u>

a. Johnathan Doe aka John Doe changed to John Doe

Q: Why do I have to disclose if I am incarcerated, on parole, or if I am required to register as a sex-offender?

A: All adult name changes must sign under the penalty of perjury the declaration in section f. on form NC-110, Attachment to Petition for Change of Name. The law requires you to disclose whether you are incarcerated, on parole or required to register as a sex-offender. The court will also check the CLETS database (California Law Enforcement Telecommunications System) to determine if you are incarcerated, on parole or required to register as a sex-offender.

t. If the person whose name will be changed is 18 years of a	ge or older, that person must sign the following declaration:
	ARATION
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State	of California that <i>(check one)</i> I am not I am tions and Rehabilitation (in state prison or on parole) or in county
	d to register as a sex offender under Penal Code section 290.
Date:	
)
(TYPE OR PRINT NAME OF PERSON WHOSE NAME IS TO BE CHANGED)	(SIGNATURE OF PERSON WHOSE NAME IS TO BE CHANGED)

If you are incarcerated, you must have permission from the Director of Corrections in order to file a Petition for Name Change. If you are on parole, you must obtain written permission from your parole agent or probation officer in order for the court to grant the name change.

If you are required to register as a sex-offender, the court must determine that it is in the best interest of justice to grant the petition and that doing so will not adversely affect public safety. In addition, you are required to notify the chief of police where you reside within 5 days if the court approves the name change.

Q: Why do I have to publish form NC-120, Order to Show Cause for Change of Name in a newspaper?

A: The law requires publication of form NC-120, Order to Show Cause for Change of Name to notify the public of the name change request and the hearing date. This is to prevent fraud and provide the public the opportunity to object.

You will need to choose a newspaper that is court-approved for publication of legal notices to publish form NC-120. Write in the newspaper you choose to publish in section 3.a. on form NC-120.

3.	a.	X A copy of this Order to Show Cause shall be published at least once each week for four successive weeks prior to the date
		set for hearing on the petition in the following newspaper of general circulation, printed in this county (specify newspaper):
		List the name of the newspaper you choose here.

Q: Which newspapers can I publish form NC-120, Order to Show Cause for Change of Name?

A: The following is a list of court-approved newspapers for publication of legal notices. Please contact the newspaper directly to inquire about publication fees.

San Francisco Daily Journal 1(800) 788-7840, ext. 5419 sfdj_legal@dailyjournal.com

The Bay Area Reporter (415) 861-5019 44 Gough Street, Suite 204 San Francisco, CA 94103

San Francisco Examiner (415) 314-1835 835 Market Street, Suite 550 San Francisco, CA 94103 sfexaminer@cnsblegal.com

Small Business Exchange (415) 778-6250 795 Folsom Street, 1st Floor, Room 1124 San Francisco, CA 94103

Q: What do I do after I complete the forms?

A: Make 2 photocopies of forms NC-100, NC-110, and NC-120. Attach form NC-110 behind form NC-100. Put the photocopies behind each original form. No need to make copies of CM-010 or NC-130. Double-hole punch the top of all the original forms. Bring all your papers to the Civic Center Courthouse located at 400 McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA 94102. File your papers in Room 103 at the "New Filings" window. The clerk will schedule a court date for at least eight weeks later.

Q: What do I need to do after I file my case?

A: You are required to publish form NC-120, Order to Show Cause for Change of Name, once a week, for four successive weeks prior to your court date, in the newspaper you listed on your form. Once publication is completed, the newspaper will provide you with a Proof of Publication. Make sure the Proof of Publication is filed with the court prior to your court date. The newspaper will charge you a separate publication fee. You will have to pay the publication fee to the newspaper even if you have a fee waiver granted by the court. Contact the newspaper you choose to inquire about publication fees.

Q: What can I expect at the court date?

A: The court date and location are listed on form NC-120. If there are no issues or objections, the judge will approve the name change. The clerk will give you the Decree Changing Name (NC-130) signed by the judge approving the name change.

Q. If my petition is granted, will my name be automatically updated with the government?

A: No. It is your responsibility to contact each government agency and follow their procedures to obtain new legal documents in your new name. Most government agencies will require you to provide a certified copy of the decree. You can request a certified copy of the Decree Changing Name (NC-130) from the records department at the Civic Center Courthouse located at 400 McAllister Street, Room 103, San Francisco, CA 94102. Please visit

https://www.sfsuperiorcourt.org/sites/default/files/pdfs/Statewide%20Fee%20Schedule %20rev%201-6-20.pdf?1588971058419 for information on fees for certified copies. This fee is waived if you have a fee waiver granted.

Q: Why would the judge deny a Petition for Name Change?

A: The judge will deny your request for name change if you are changing your name for any of the following reasons:

- Changing a name to commit fraud
- Changing a name to hide from the law
- Changing a name to avoid sex-offender registry
- Changing a name to take on someone else's identity
- Changing a name to avoid debt collectors
- Changes a name to use lewd, obscenity, racial slur or to use other offense words as a new name