Skip to main content
Skip to main content.

ALERT

   Due to the shelter-in-place order for Senator Feinstein’s memorial, Court services at the Civic Center Courthouse will be limited beginning, Thursday, October 5, 2023, at 10:30 a.m. until Friday, October 6, 2023 at 8:15 a.m. The ACCESS Center will resume normal operations on Monday, October 9th, 2023.  

Traffic Frequently Asked Questions

Click on a question/topic below for more information.

By phone or online: Visa, Mastercard, Discover, American Express
In person: Visa, Mastercard, Discover, American Express, Check, Money Order, Cash
By Mail: Check, Money Order

In the case of traffic citations, Superior Court of California, County of San Francisco must collect 100% of the citation due. Therefore, in order to offer our customers the convenience of online payment, a processing fee must be levied.

Your e-mail address will be used to confirm receipt of your online payment.

Hall of Justice -- Traffic Division
850 Bryant Street, Room 145
San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone: (415) 551-8550

To obtain a copy of your traffic record, please visit our office in Room 145 and have this Records Request Form completed along with the required payment of fee(s).

A civil assessment of $100 may be added to any infraction fine if you fail to post bail on time or fail to appear for your scheduled court date.

California law permits the Court to impose a civil assessment of one hundred dollars ($100) against any individual who fails, after notice and without good cause, to appear in court for any proceeding, or who fails to pay all or any portion of a fine ordered by the court. The civil assessment is imposed in addition to, and separate from, any fine connected with a traffic citation.

Even if you later contest your citation and win, you may be required to pay the civil assessment.

The Court has entered into an agreement with Alliance One to collect unpaid fines, fees and civil assessments. If you fail to appear or fail to pay your fine, the Court will refer your matter to Alliance One for collection. The Court and Alliance One will use a number of methods to collect unpaid fines, fees and the civil assessment. These methods may include the garnishment or attachment of your wages along with other various collection devices. If your citation has been referred to Alliance One and you can't afford to pay, learn more about your options.

Certain citations that include the $100 civil assessment fee may be paid online. Click on Pay Your Citation on the Pay Traffic Citations page.

Yes, you can sign-up and pay traffic citation online by clicking here.

Online Services uses Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) technology to safeguard your online transactions. SSL encrypts all of your personal information, including credit card number, so that it cannot be read as the information travels over the Internet.

Did you receive a ticket, but can't afford to pay? Learn more about your options.

Was this helpful?