Online Traffic School Registration Information
Notice: If you already appeared in the courtroom and did not receive an order for Traffic School from the Judge, you cannot sign up for it now.
Point Count Violations
You may choose to attend Traffic Violator School for a vehicle code violation that is assigned one point only. Violations committed by a pedestrian or a bicyclist are not assigned point counts. To verify whether a violation is assigned a point count, review the Traffic Bail Schedule to be sure you need to attend traffic school. Look up your violation(s) and check the far right column to see if there is a DMV point attached to the violation(s). If you pay the $52 administrative Traffic School fee for committing a violation that is not eligible for Traffic School, the fee will not be refunded.
Eligibility for Traffic School
Pursuant to Vehicle Code section 42005 and California Rules of Court rule 4.104, court clerks are only authorized to grant traffic school requests if the following criteria is met:
You must currently possess a valid California driver's license. If your citation was written with an out of state license indicated, and you possess a valid California license, you must make a court date to ask a judge to amend the citation so that you are eligible to attend Traffic School.
The violation(s) on your ticket must be an eligible Vehicle Code infraction. Any violation that carries a negligent operator point count of more than one point under VC 12810 or one and one-half points or more under VC 12810.5(b)(2) is not eligible. Seat belt, mechanical or equipment violations, failure to have insurance and other certain specified violations are not eligible for traffic school.
You may not have attended Traffic School for a previous violation committed within the last 18-months. The 18-month eligibility period is determined from violation date to violation date and not from when you attended Traffic School.
If cited for speeding, the alleged speed cannot be more than 25 mph over the speed limit.
Your citation/ticket must not be for a violation of Vehicle Code section 22406.5 (tank vehicles).
- Your citation/ticket must not be related to drug or alcohol use or possession.
- If you were cited while driving with a Class A, B or Commercial Class C driver's license, on or after January 1, 2013, but you were not driving a commercial vehicle at the time of the violation, you may attend Traffic School, if eligible. Although the DMV will not assess the point count on your driving record, they will not hold the conviction as confidential and therefore your insurance may be adversely affected.
NOTICE: San Francisco Superior Court will authorize traffic school on delinquent tickets if no more than 20 days have passed since the Notice of Civil Assessment date; full bail and any civil assessment fine imposed pursuant to 1214.1PC must be paid in advance.
NOTICE: If you are eligible and decide not to attend traffic school your automobile insurance may be adversely affected.
For drivers with a California noncommercial driver's license, one conviction in any 18-month period will be held confidential and not show on your driving record if you complete a traffic violator school program. As of January 1, 2013, for drivers with a California commercial driver's license, cited while driving a non-commercial vehicle, one conviction in any 18-month period will show on your driving record without a violation point if you complete a traffic violator school program.
WARNING: If you are not eligible to attend traffic school, but do so anyway or sign up for traffic school and do not attend, the money you paid, which includes the bail and the administrative fee, will be forfeited and the DMV will be notified of the conviction and it will be reported on your driving record.
Traffic School Fees
There are court fees and a fee charged by the traffic school. To register for traffic school, you must pay:
- The bail (fine); and
- A state-mandated, non-refundable administrative fee of $52.
- A traffic school fee ranging from $20 - $45.
Please note: If you choose to take an online traffic school course from an approved traffic school, you must pay the (bail) fine and the administrative fee before the completion of the online school. If payment has not been received, your certificate will be rejected.
After you have verified that you and the violation meet the above requirements, you may sign up and pay by mail, in person, or online (link below). If you sign up online, your traffic school due date and link to the Traffic School agreement will be on your confirmation page once paid. You are generally given three months from your date of payment to complete Traffic School. You may attend only the DMV-Approved Classroom and Online Traffic Schools.
Payment Methods and Certificates:
1. By Mail:
Mail a check or money order, payable to the San Francisco Superior Court, in the amount of the bail (fine) and the $52 fee to:
San Francisco Superior Court
850 Bryant St. Room 145
San Francisco, CA 94103-4610
Be sure to include the citation number on the check. Do Not Send Cash Through the Mail.
2. In Person:
San Francisco Superior Court
850 Bryant St., Room 145
San Francisco, CA 94103-4610
Hours: 8:30 a.m. -- 12:30 p.m., Monday -- Friday, except Court holidays.
Acceptable forms of payment are: cash, check, money order, debit card or credit card (Visa/ Master card only)
To sign-up for Traffic School online, a valid MasterCard, Visa, Discover or American Express card is required.
A state-mandated, non-refundable administrative fee of $52 and a convenience fee of 3.5% of the transaction will be charged to your credit card in addition to your fine amount.
If you have questions, please review the Frequently Asked Questions and visit the Traffic Division section of our website for additional information.
Read and Print Traffic School Agreement
Traffic School Certificates
Traffic school completions cannot be accepted if the bail (fine) and the $52 administrative fee have not been paid. The traffic school business will notify the California DMV of course completion and the Court will access that information from the California DMV through a secured transmission.